"Into the Wild" is a film directed by Sean Penn and released in 2007. It's based on the 1996 non-fiction book written by Jon Krakauer, about life of Christopher McCandless. McCandless was young man who adopted the name Alexander Supertramp in the early 1990s and hiked into the Alaskan wilderness with little food and equipment. In 1992, he died inside an abandoned bus that was his home, near Denali National Park and Preserve.

The film stars Emile Hirsch, with a strong supporting cast: William Hurt, Marcia Gay Harden, Jena Malone, Catherine Keener, Vince Vaughn and Hal Holbrook, who received an Oscar nomination for best supporting actor.

The songs on the Soundtrack were mostly written and performed by Eddie Vedder, lead singer of Pearl Jam, and Jerry Hannan. The score was written and performed by Michael Brook and Kaki King.